Next year’s Hopman Cup is shaping up to be a great one. The tennis event is held every year in Perth and is a mixed tournament with eight teams of men and women from different countries competing against each other.

The representatives chosen from some of the nations for 2019’s event leave the promise for some very interesting games, with eyes of all tennis fans everywhere being caught by the New Year’s Day confrontation between women’s world number 17 Serena Williams and men’s world number two Roger Federer.

Also, for the first time, young Greek starlets Stefanos Tsitsipas and Maria Sakkari will make their way to Australia as they join forces on the court. Joining Williams for Team USA will be newcomer Frances Tiafoe, while Federer will be accompanied by Belinda Bencic.

Germany will be represented by the man who turned out to become Tsitsipas’ grand rival in the big events, Alexander Zverev and women’s world number three Angelique Kerber. Meanwhile, Tsitsipas won the first ATP main-draw match against Australia’s Alex de Minaur reaching the Japan quarterfinals on Thursday.

On Friday the young gun stood up against third seed Kei Nishikori, who has previously won the tournament twice. Australians will have their own team to root for, with Ashleigh Barty and Matt Ebden teaming up, while the roster is completed by France’s Lucas Pouille and Alize Cornet, Great Britain’s Cameron Norrie and Katie Boulter and Spain’s David Ferrer and Garbine Muguruza. The 2019 Hopman Cup will take place from 29 December, 2018 until 5 January, 2019.