Victoria’s Premier Daniel Andrews declared the borders of Victoria would reopen to NSW on Monday night and announced a ‘traffic light’ system to keep Victoria safe from interstate travellers. The system has changed regional NSW from a red to an orange light system, however Sydney and Brisbane are still no-go zones.

Τhe new permit system will apply from 6pm Monday, however current permits – including transit and worker permits – will remain valid.

Those applying for a permit will need to do so when entering Victoria from anywhere in Australia, except border communities in NSW where proof of home address will suffice. The type of permit will depend on where residents are coming from. Anyone who has visited a red zone in the past 14 days would not be allowed to enter Vitoria without an exemption and will be turned away.

Returned Victorians without an exemption will have to self-isolate at home for 14 days and will receive a fine of $4,957. Interstate residents presenting themselves at an airport and seaport without an exemption will also be fined for the same amount.

People in orange zones can apply for a permit and need to take a coronavirus test within 72 hours of arriving in Victoria and isolating both before and after the test until receiving negative results.

Green zone entrants can apply for a permit and should watch for symptoms without needing to get tested.

Around 18,660 tests were conducted in 24 hours, and Victoria currently has 40 active cases. It is hoped that contract tracers will help put out the 27-case outbreak which was linked to a Thai eatery in Black Rock.