The Northern Territory will be joining the FFA Cup preliminary rounds, the last state and territory to join making the competition truly national.

One Northern Territory team will have the chance to make it to the round of 32 next year, taking on the like of the A-League clubs.

Football Federation Australia (FFA) this week announced the number of slots that each of the member federations will receive in the round of 32, with the bigger states getting more spots for the business end of the Cup.

Victoria and Queensland will once again get four spots, while NSW will get the most, with both central and northern NSW getting places, totalling seven all up.
NPL champions, South Australian club MetroStars SC, will automatically enter the round of 32 thanks to their finals win.