Greek-sponsored club Darwin Olympic will play Uni Azzuri on March 28, one of the first Hellenic clubs of the region to vie for FFA Cup qualification.

This is the first year the Northern Territory will join the nation-wide Cup, and with a strong Greek population will include a number of Greek clubs.

Hellenic AFC will take on 2014 Cyclones Cup champions Booraloola FC in round two on April 22 after a bye, while Michael Gerakios’ Port Dawin FC have been drawn last and will take on Australian Defence force team 1st Brigade.

Both Darwin Olympic and Hellenic AFC have a long and established history in Darwin, cultivating the sport in the Territory.

Hellenic was established in 1958, while Olympic came into its own in 1967 creating a healthy Greek presence.

The clubs were founded by Greek immigrants new to Australia who loved football and were looking for a means to get together, socialise and integrate into the community.

NT Football has been given one direct slot into the Round of 32 of the 2015 Westfield FFA Cup.