George Lekakis AO has been appointed as the new chair of Multicultural Arts Victoria (MAV).

The news was announced by retiring chair Stefan Romaniw during the organisation’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) earlier this week.

Well-attended by over 100 members, artists and supporters, among those gathered were former Premier of Victoria John Cain and wife Nancye, Jason Yeap OAM, VMC Chair Helen Kapalos and ECCV Chair Eddie Micallef.

Also in attendance were Commissioner for Gender and Sexuality DPCD Rowena Allen, MAV Founding Chair Mike Zafiropoulos AM, and former Minister for Multicultural Affairs John Pandazopoulos.

Invited to attend as guest speaker on the night was Minister Martin Foley, who took the opportunity to acknowledge the importance of the MAV and its role in stimulating diverse creativity across Victoria.

However, the AGM held extra significance this year given the retirement of board members Mr Romaniw following 15 years of service, 10 of which he held the position of Chairman; and the retirement of Deputy Chair Natalia Moravski after 25 years, Marcello D’Amico following 20 years, and Kay Nattrass after six years of service.

Joining Mr Lekakis on the board, are newly elected members Miriam Suss OAM, Michael Van Vliet, Judith Klepner, and co-opted members Bayarkhuu Purevdorj, Dr Brad Potter and Symon Kohut.