It was first announced in February, however the measure is only now being put into effect with six names being classified as geographic indicators that are now off limits for Australian producers.

The Morrison government released a list of names the EU wants banned as it moves into the final stages of negotiations that will most likely receive opposition from primary producers.

Among the 236 products on the list, Australia is expected to no longer be able to use the name of popular cheeses such as feta, halloumi, gruyere, Manchego, Asiago, Parmigiano Reggiano, Taleggio and Gorgonzola.

Prosciutto di Parma and Grappa liquor have also been named in the $100 billion trade deal between Australia and the European Union.

Scotch steaks are still on the list but after Brexit, they could be included in a separate trade deal negotiated simultaneously with the United Kingdom.

The EU argues that the names are tied to a particular European region and their names act as “geographic indicators” that authenticate the quality standards of the product, therefore should not be used by outside producers.

ALSO READ: Whose feta is it anyway?

“Australians can be confident that we will drive a very hard bargain – as we always do – to achieve an overall agreement that delivers more opportunity for Australian farmers and businesses,” Trade Minister Simon Birmingham said.

“The EU boasts more than 500 million consumers and, even with existing trade restrictions, it is already Australia’s third-largest export market.”

Australia is however preparing to negotiate terms to the agreement that may allow farmers to name their products for example “Australian Feta” but EU poses resistance suggesting they can only use “feta-like” as part of the description.

Trade negotiators have not yet touched on wines, but prosecco wine might have to be renamed soon.

Of all the products on the list, feta is expected to cause the greatest stir within the Australia dairy sector, which wants to continue to use the name on the very popular cheese.