After an impressive season, the Sky Blues have managed to win their fourth consecutive and record breaking premiership.

Sydney FC have nabbed the Premier’s Plate with an 11 point lead over second-placed Wellington Phoenix and four games to spare.

Wellington Phoenix’s and Adelaide United’s 1-1 game last Saturday secured the defending champions top spot on the ladder at the end of the season.

“Our congratulations go out to Sydney FC for claiming their fourth Premiers’ Plate,” Football Federation Australia chairman Chris Nikou said in a statement.

READ MORE: Kosta Petratos scores his first A-League goal bringing Newcastle Jets a victory

Sydney FC chairman Scott Barlow also praised the team on the club’s website, noting the extra challenges this season was up against with the coronavirus pandemic.

“The last few months have certainly had its challenges and I’d like to thank everyone at the club, including our passionate fans and members, for their patience, professionalism and commitment to Sydney FC. This title belongs to all of you,” he said.

In their four premiership seasons, Sydney FC has won three premierships and two grand finals.

The Hyundai A-League 2020 Finals Series begins on Saturday, 22 August 2020.