Super League Greece returns for its 2020/21 season two months after Olympiacos took home its 45th title win.

The 85th season begins tomorrow morning at 1:15 am (11 September 6:15 pm on Greece time), with Aris and Lamia battling it out at Kleanthis Vikelidis Stadium.

Later that evening, PAOK will take on Larissa on home soil at Toubma Stadium at 8:30 pm (12 September, 3:30 am AEST).

Newcomers Applon Smyrnis are hoping to make themselves known this season after knocking Xanthi FC to relegation after 31-years in the top league.

Their debut game in the top flight will take place on 12 October against PAS Giannina.

READ MORE: Perth Glory’s Popovic prepares for Greece

For now, Xanthi will try and gain traction once again after welcoming ex-Perth Glory coach Tony Popovic.

The Greek Cup final will be taking place tonight after being postponed twice.

The final between AEK and Olympiacos was originally set to take place on 26 July, but the match was held off after police reported that there were fears of fan violence.

Hidden gasoline bombs and wooden bats were found around the Georgios Kamaras Stadium in northern Athens where the match was set to take place.

After overcoming rescheduling obstacles, the match was then organised for Sunday 30 August at the OAKA Stadium.

READ MORE: Greek Cup in limbo, after third Olympiacos player tests COVID-19 positive

In an 11th hour development, the final was postponed a second time after Olympiacos’ midfielder Maximiliano Lovera tested positive for COVID-19.

The Argentinian player is the third in the Olympiacos squad to fall ill from the virus, following Portuguese defender Ruben Semedo and goalkeeper Konstantinos Tzolakis.

Following health protocol, the team and delegation members were tested 48 hours after the confirmed case and quarantined in the following days.

This will be AEK’s fifth consecutive year in the finals, while Olympiacos’ last go at the finals was back in 2016.

If you would like to watch the match in Australia, remember to set your alarm in time for the 4:00 am AEST kick off at Panthessaliko Stadium.


ARIS FC vs PAS LAMIA: 12 September, 1:15 am
PAOK FC vs AEL FC: 12 September, 3:30 am
OFI FC vs PANETOLIKOS FC: 13 September, 1:00 am
ATROMITOS FC vs VOLOS NFC: 14 September, 1:30 am
APOLLON SMYRNI vs PAS GIANNINA: 22 October, 2:15 am
AEK FC vs OLYMPIACOS: 17 December, 4:30 am
Match dates and times are based on Australian Eastern Standard Time