Christos Tsiolkas the winner of the prestigious international, Commonwealth Writers’ Prize for The Slap, was awarded the 2009 Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIA) on Tuesday at a gala event.
‘The Slap’ won the Literary Fiction Book of the Year 2009.

The awards honour and recognise authors, booksellers and publishers for their outstanding contributions.

The award winners were chosen by an academy of booksellers and publishers.

Christos Tsiolkas was also nominated for the Miles Franklin award but missed out to Tim Winton and his novel Breath.