In announcing the winners of the 2011 CFDA Fashion Awards in New York, the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) has highlighted eleven key industry players in the United States.

Marc Jacobs was the recipient of the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement award, while Lady Gaga won the fashion icon award for her inimitable boundary-pushing fashion style.

Proenza Schouler won Womenswear designer of the year, while Alexander Wang won Accessory designer of the year. Michael Bastian was awarded Menswear designer of the year, while Phoebe Philo won the International award. Eddie Borgo took out the Swarovski award for accessory design, Prabal Gurung won the Swarovski award for womenswear and Robert Geller won the Swarovski award for menswear. Arthur Elgort won the Board of Directors’ special tribute while Hilary Alexander won the media award, given in honour of Eugenia Sheppard.