A total of 32 parties, coalitions and individual candidates will contest the May 6 general election, following their approval by the Supreme Court (Areios Pagos) on Thursday.

The court banned four parties from taking part: National Hope, PAME in GESEEP [Π.Α.Μ.Ε. στο Γ.Ε.Σ.Ε.ΕΠ.], the Friends of Man, and Citizens Assembly-(Direct) Democracy in Practice.

It is understood that National Hope was prohibited under the electoral law from participating as it is a monarchist party.

The court also banned the one-man party Tyrannicides from contesting the election under that name, on the grounds that the title “demonstrated criminal intent”. The party’s only candidate, Athanasios Daskalopoulos, may run, however.

The parties and their leaders that will contest the election are:

Panhellenic Socialist Movement (Pasok), Evangelos Venizelos
New Democracy (ND), Antonis Samaras
Communist Party of Greece (KKE), Aleka Papariga
Radical Left Coalition-Unitary Social Movement (Syriza), Alexis Tspiras
Popular Orthodox Rally (Laos), Yiorgos Karatzaferis
Democratic Alliance, Dora Bakoyannis
Social Pact, Louka Katseli
Independent Greeks, Panos Kammenos
Democratic Left, Fotis Kouvelis
Drasi [Action]-Liberal Alliance, Stefanos Manos and Grigoris Vallianatos
Ecologists-Greens (Ecogreens), six-member committee
Union of Centrists, Vassilis Leventis
Liberal Party, K. Kaligiannis
Popular Union-Golden Dawn (Chrysi Avyi), Nikolaos Michaloliakos
Dimosthenis Vergis-Greek Ecologists, Dimosthenis Vergis
Ochi [Democratic Revival and United Popular Front (Epam)], Stelios Papathemelis and 3-member ctte
“Can’t Pay, Won’t Pay” Movement, Vasilis Papadopoulos
National Resistance Movement (KEAN), Ippokratis Savvouras
Communist Party of Greece (Marxist-Leninist)-Marxist-Leninist Communist Party of Greece (KKE (m-l)-ML KKE), four-member ctte
Anticapitalist Left Cooperation for the Overthrow (Antarsya), 21-member ctte
Organisation of Communist Internationalists of Greece (OKDE), 3-member ctte
Workers Revolutionary Party (EEK Trokskyists), Sabetai Matsas
Organisation for the Reconstruction of the Communist Party of Greece (OAKKE), 3-member ctte
National Unity Association (SEE), N. Alikakos
Koinonia [Society: Political Party of the Successors of Kapodistria], Michail Iliadis
Pirate Party of Greece, I. Papagoupous
Recreate Greece, Glavkos Tzimeros
Panathinaikos Movement (Panki), Yiorgos Betsikas
Axioprepeia [Dignity] (alliance of independent candidates), Panayiotis Theodoropoulos
Renewing Independent Left, Renewing Right, Renewing Pasok, Renewing New Democracy, No to War, Party of Action I Give Away Land, I Give Away Debts, Save Lives, Panagrarian Labour Movement of Greece (Paeke) Miltiadis Tzalazidis
Regional Urban Development (PAA), Nikos Kolitsis (sole candidate)
Athanasios Daskalopoulos (Independent)

Source: Athens News