The Hawthorn Spartans have been named Premiers for the 2018/2019 season. After a thrilling final that was played on Saturday 25 August at the Box Hill Oval. The Greek club managed to surpass the final obstacle of the Melbourne Old Boys and completed their season undefeated.

Even though they couldn’t find much action up front in the starting minutes of the game, Antonis Demetriou’s men held back the Old Boys as they didn’t allow them to find a single goal kick for the entire first half of the game. When the Melbourne Maroon did eventually try to look for a counter attack in the third quarter, the Spartans responded with five unanswered goals, ending the game with a 43 point difference. This result is evident of the great form the team has been in all season.

This is now the fourth premiership title the team has managed to conquer within eight years of presence in the competition, having participated in seven finals in the process.

The Hawthorn Spartans finish the season having 43 players representing the team overall, showing the depth of their squad and the unity that they had as a group. After the final was over, the team celebrated with the fans and later on in the day they took the trophy back to their home ground of the Rathmine Reserve, where the club held a celebration in honour of their fourth premiership title.

The scores:
1st QTR: 4.0.24 to 0.1.1.
2nd QTR: 4.5.29 to 0.2.2
3rd QTR: 5.7.37 to 1.4.10
4th QTR: 10.11.71 to 3.10.28
Goal kickers: A. Lekkas 3, P. Makris 2, J. Farah 1, N. Criticos 1, J. Roci 1, A. Karim 1, T. Barber 1