The Andrews Labor Government welcomed eight new appointees to the Victorian Multicultural Commission, including Maria Dimopoulos as Deputy Chairperson of the commission.

Ms Dimopoulos, a trained lawyer, is a recognised executive leader and expert on multicultural affairs with over 25 years of experience in cultural diversity, gender equity, justice and human rights. She has worked as a policy adviser, strategist, community advocate, speaker and mentor. She has worked with the VMC for many years and was recognised for her contribution to supporting multiculturalism and women from diverse backgrounds with the Australian Migration and Settlement Lifetime Achievement Award in 2017.

READ MORE: Vivienne Nguyen takes over from Helen Kapalos as new Victorian Multicultural Commission Chair

Minister for Multicultural Affairs Richard Wynne said each commissioner had been recognised for their skills and lived experience championing cultural and religious diversity in the State.

The announcement comes shortly following the appointment of chairperson Ms Nguyen last month.

READ MORE: New horizons for Helen Kapalos

Apart from Ms Dimopoulos, other appointees are: Khayshie Tilak Ramesh (Youth Commissioner, reappointed), Mohammed Yassin (Community Organisation Representative Commissioner), and commissioners Bwe Thay, Judy Tang, David Nyuol Vincent, Sankaran (Shankar) Kasynathan and Sisay Dinku.

“I am confident that together, we can achieve positive outcomes for all Victorians and promote the social, cultural and economic benefits of diversity in our state,” Ms Nguyen said.