Syndey FC – Melbourne Victory

Like a fierce storm, Melbourne Victory blew through Sydney, leaving behind legions of hopeful fans in its wake.

Popovic’s team showed grit and tenacity on the field, seizing every opportunity and led by the seasoned Bruno Fornaroli and new sensation Zinedine Machach.

They silenced the Allianz Stadium and left with a valuable three points in their pocket, leaving Sydney in awe.

With a stunningly beautiful goal from Fornaroli in the 62nd minute and a dazzling debut by former Ionikos player Machach, the French dynamo outrunning everyone and scoring a left-footed shot in the 86th minute, Melbourne Victory secured a triumphant 2-0 victory.

Despite a tough season prior, Melbourne Victory is determined to rise from the ashes and reclaim its top spot on the league table this year.

Melbourne City – Western United

In a surprising turn of events, Western United conquered City’s home turf, snagging a major win in the process.

Despite facing intense pressure in the first half and struggling to fend off their relentless opponents, the away team managed to keep their composure and score two goals, thus snatching three crucial points at the iconic AAMI Park.

The team’s fearless leader, Lachlan Wales, made a stellar play and landed the first goal in the 60th minute, sending their loyal supporters into a frenzy.

However, City was not ready to back down just yet, betraying their reputation as fierce competitors and temporarily equalizing the score with the help of the talented Tolgay Arslan, a German-Turkish player who arrived to the A-League this season.

Despite his impressive skills and a successful one-two pass with Maclaren, the equalizer was short-lived, as Western United refused to let the victory slip away from their grasp.

In a nail-biting finish, young sensation Noah Botic sealed the deal with a clutch penalty kick in the 87th minute, solidifying Western United’s determination to compete for the coveted title this year.

Adelaide United – Central Coast Mariners

The South Australian team, Adelaide United, kicked off the season with a strong start.

Their fans were thrilled as they easily defeated the Central Coast Mariners in their opening game of the year.

Experienced player Ben Halloran opened the scoring in the 38th minute with a skillful shot from the corner of the penalty area.

Zach Clough increased the score to 2-0 in the 64th minute with a successful penalty kick. However, the visiting players argued against the referee’s decision.

Former Melbourne Victory player Nick Ansell sealed the victory with a header in the 80th minute, bringing the final score to 3-0.

Macarthur – Brisbane Roar

We witnessed an epic battle in Campbeltown as Macarthur and Brisbane Roar duked it out. The home team dominated the field for a whopping 90 minutes, but alas, could not outmatch the fierce and fiery Roar.

Macarthur just couldn’t convert their numerous scoring chances thanks to Brisbane’s impenetrable goalie, Freke.

Just when it seemed like the home team would take the glory with Rodrigues’ goal in the 52nd minute, O’Shea swooped in with a direct free-kick in the 73rd minute to level the playing field.

In the end, it was nothing short of a gripping showdown.


Adelaide United – Central Coast Mariners 3 – 0 (38′ B. Halloran, 64′ Z. Clough [P], 80′ N. Ansell)

Macarthur – Brisbane Roar 1 – 1 (52′ RB Rodrigues – 73′ J. O’Shea)

Melbourne City – Western United 1 – 2 (62′ T. Arslan – 60′ L. Wales, 87′ N. Botic [P])

Syndey – Melbourne Victory 0 – 2 (62′ B. Fornaroli, 86′ Z. Machach)

Western Sydney Wanderers – Wellington Phoenix*

Perth Glory – Newcastle Jets*

*These matches were held on Sunday (22/10) afternoon


1. Adelaide 1 3

2. Mel Victory 1 3

3. Western United 1 3

4. Brisbane Roar 1 1

5. Macarthur 1 1

6. Newcastle 0 0

7. Perth Glory 0 0

8. Pheonix 0 0

9. Wanderers 0 0

10. Melbourne City 1 0

11. Sydney 1 0

12. Mariners 1 0


Friday 27/10

Brisbane Roar – Sydney FC 19:45

Saturday 28/10

Wellington Phoenix – Perth Glory 15:30

Western Sydney Wanderers – Western United 19:45

Sunday 29/10

Central Coast Mariners – Macarthur 15:00

Melbourne Victory – Newcastle Jets 17:00

Adelaide United – Melbourne City 19:00