The 77th edition of the Cannes Film Festival will announce the list of films in competition on Thursday.

It is already known that Furiosa: A Mad Max Saga, the sequel to George (Miliotis) Miller’s cult film series, will be screened out of competition. The film is due to be presented by the Australian director and stars Anya Taylor-Joy, Chris Hemsworth and Tom Burke.

The festival, which runs from May 14 to 25, is set to open with Le Deuxieme Act (The Second Act) by French director and musician Quentin Dupieux. The comedy starring Lea Seydoux and Vincent Lindon will also be screened out of competition.

Horizon: An American Saga by and starring Kevin Costner will also be presented out of competition. Costner is joined in the Western epic by Sienna Miller, Sam Worthington and Jena Malone.

This year’s honorary award is expected to go to US director George Lucas.

The jury president is Barbie director Greta Gerwig. The 40-year-old is the first US director to chair the jury at the film festival and is also the youngest president of the jury since Sophia Loren, who took over the presidency in 1966 at the age of 31.

Source: AAP