The National Union of Greek Australian Students (NUGAS) held its AGM last Monday, attended by various Victorian university Greek clubs.

The outgoing executive committee presented their reports, and proposed constitutional changes were motioned and voted on.

Candidates from universities who wished to run for representative positions on the 2024-2025 NUGAS Committee delivered speeches before voting commenced.

Following the elections, the new board members were announced.

The newly elected Co-Presidents expressed pride in leading the largest association of Greek Australian university students in Australia.

They said they are “enthusiastic about working with a strong and dedicated team, full of ideas and initiatives” and look forward to welcoming new members to the Greek clubs at affiliated universities and engaging everyone in a wide range of upcoming events.

They also highlighted the importance of celebrating Greek culture, religion, language, and history, and they are committed to ensuring these values continue to thrive within the university community.

The next major event is the 2024 Annual Gala Ball, scheduled for September expected to draw over 1,000 attendees featuring a popular entertainment lineup. Tickets for the Gala Ball will be released shortly.

Elected executive positions:

Co-Presidents: Chris Giannaros (Χρήστος Γιάνναρος) and Angelica Spiliopoulos-Angsiting (Αγγελική Σπιλιοπουλου-Αντζσιτινγκ)

Secretary: Jenna Pletsias (Γεωργία Πλετσιας)

Treasurer: Eleni Lykopandis (Ελένη Λυκοπαντη)

Marketing Officer: Kosta Siolis (Κωνσταντίνος Σιολις)

Education Officer: Christina Savopoulos (Χρηστηνα Σαβοπουλου)

Social-Cultural Officer: Alek Paris (Αλέξανδρος Παρις)

NUGAS executive committee members. Photo: Supplied

General committee members:

Demi Bourdopoulos (Ντέμη Βουρδοπουλος)

Helena Kayalicos (Έλενα Καγιαληκος)

Rebecca Kayalicos (Ρεβέκκα Καγιαληκος)

Nikitas Koukounaras (Νικήτας Κουκουναρας)

Athan Robotis (Αθανάσιος Ρομποτης)

William Dasopatis (Βασίλειος Δασοπατης)

Billy Battista (Βασίλειος Μπατιστας)

Mia Georgantis (Διονύσια Γεωργαντης)

Argyro Pollakis (Αργυρο Πολλάκις)

Ellen Vossos (Ελένη Βοσος)

Epiphany Kiriakidis (Επιφάνεια Κυριακίδη)

Sophia Kiriakidis (Σοφία Κυριακίδη)

Nick Giannakis (Νικόλαος Γιαννακις)

Andrew Nicolettou (Αντρέας Νικολετου)

Vas Davos (Βασίλειος Νταβος)

Panos Stamatopoulos (Παναγιώτης Σταματοπουλος)

Leadership Vision and Upcoming Events